Take A Further … Some of My Favourite Words

When I go shopping it’s like watching a whale looking for a swarm of plankton in a vast ocean. It’s a long, slow process, but when I see what I want it’s delicious and nutritious.

I have no idea who Sorbet is from the pic I’ve attached to this blog, but it was the only hi-res image I could find that included the magical words ‘take a further…’

How I love those words! They are my key to shopping and how I get some retail therapy and feel like I’ve won and the shops I’ve given my money to have lost.

I’m a lot like that whale just gliding around, passing sharks and fish and dugongs without even a look in their direction. For me, I can’t buy full price. I’m not sure why really. It just feels so irresponsible. I buy other things at full price all the time, just not clothes.

When it comes to clothes, I’m not buying that ‘up to 75% off’ rubbish or that ‘everything in store 50% off today!’ crap either. No, it’s got to be ‘take a further’. It might be 40% off originally and then an additional 25% off, or maybe 50% off and then an additional 30% off, or it could be the golden gems you find that are already 60% off and then an additional 50% off.

When I find those deals it’s like Christmas has come in the form of some *fashionable (*subjective claim) clothes and a limited outlay. How ironic that the worst time ever to find a ‘take a further’ sale is at Christmas time?

Leave a Reply

